Favourite Cardmaking Trends of 2015

It’s a fantastic time to be a cardmaker, and there is a lot wonderful design inspiration out there.

With so many different ideas & techniques it is hard to pick a favourite trend, but I have a few favourites that I have seen over the last year – some I am sure will continue through the coming months of 2016

Here are my top 5 Favourite Cardmaking Trends.

Hidden Die Cuts
Beloved Bouquet - January 2016 Stamp of the Month: Yellow Rose hidden Happy InlayI love how this technique creates a bit of an optical illusion – the die cut word is there but is also hidden within the image either fully or partially. You can do this with the Cricut machine too – stamp your image, cut out the word (or shape) from your image. Cut the word (or shape) a few more times from scrap & glue together & jigsaw back all the pieces. Your word pop out but also blends back into the stamped image.

 

 

 

Watercolour
Share the Love: HelloNot sure if it is the sweeping, blended brushstoke look that I like about watercolour paint, because I also love the splats & splotches & mess as well.  Or maybe it just brings back memories of playing with watercolour paints as a kid! I love the versatility of creating a background or painting up an image on watercolour paper but I also love when I find products that have already got that lovely watercolour look without me pulling out all my stuff. Like the Picture My Life™ Through the Year Scrapbooking Program it has a lovely soft water colour look through all the cards that I can incorporate into my cardmaking.

Fun card folds
Camper Crazy Home is where you park it side step cardOk the title has the word fun in it, so easy to see why it is a favourite! I know a lot of people like quick simple easy to replicate /mass produce but sometimes we want to make that special VIP card. So I think this is why cards with different folds are making a comeback.

 

 

 

 

Cute critters and characters
CTMH Kaleidoscope Animal Greetings Happy CardCute critters are spreading their sweetness into a lot of cards. They are just so easy to incorporate into any style of cardmaking – I have seen them on clean & simple to very arty style cards. And as I’m a sucker for a “punny” phrase, the CTMH Operational Smile Animal Greetings with their witty word makes these one of my favourite Cute Critters stamp sets to use in cards.

 

 

 

 

Magical metallics
Picture My Life™ Beautiful You Scrapbooking ProgramMetallics are having a real moment, and the trend looks set to continue into the 2016 as it add snazzy shimmer. Get the look with gold and silver embossing powders, or treat yourself to Gold or Silver Foil tape or even the Fundamental Stickers Basics Pack which has some fab gold foil stickers in the set.

Well there you have it these are my top 5 favourite trends.
What are your favourite cardmaking trends?

 

 

Remember to join the Live your Day Gathering to be in the draw to win the January Mystery Hostess & for a chance to get a FREE roll of gold foil tape.

Mystery Hostess - oin the Live Your Day Gathering, make an order $30 or more & you will get a FREE Roll of Foil tape, sent separately, PLUS you go into the draw of wining the Mystery Hostess. You could win FREE product & possibly up to 50% off product. Names will be drawn Jan 30, 2016 - Good Luck

Also make sure you take the time to round up your order & donate some money to Operation Smile™, an organization that provides free, life-changing surgery that repairs smiles and reshapes lives, one child at a time.

Thanks so much for taking the time to check out this blog post…see you soon.

Maz

What do you think?

