How to make a Floral Note Card Holder and Note Cards: Tutorial

How sweet is this little floral note card gift set all decorated up with Close To My Heart’s Blossoming Expressions stamp set?

What I love about this gift floral note card gift is that the front cover acts as a stand when it is open, so you can see all the little note cards sitting inside it.

To decorate the whole note card gift set I used some green spotted paper from the Kaleidoscope Paper Packet & (oh my heart – I love this stuff) Silver Foil Tape this is what made the set tie together.

So these stamps you may have noticed have two lots of images to create the flowers & the leaves. a solid type image & an outline.
With these stamps you can do what is know as a base & shade technique.

Base & Shade Stamping Technique

So I didn’t quite follow the colour instructions as above ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Oh well I don’t always follow the rules & well while my flowers did not quite turn out the same (besides the stamp image used above) I still liked how it turned out.

The flowers were stamped with Hollyhock Exclusive Inks & Smoothie Exclusive Ink although I think I should have gone with the second generation stamping technique with one of these colours instead of using them together.

Second generation stamping technique  is where you stamp the base colour off on scrap then stamp so it is a nice lighter second generation & then stamp over with the outline (shade) with the first generation image.

Or  I could have followed the instructions and used the colours listed in the image – but I still liked how this turned out.

The leaves were done with Sweet Leaf Exclusive Ink & Pear Exclusive Ink & the colours were much more different to give that lovely two toned look.
See not always following instructions does work out sometimes!

On the cover I added some Red Enamel Gems to make the cover a bit different to the note gift cards.

Ok so I know you want to know HOW I made the little gift box that the note cards stand in. Believe it or not I made it with one piece of cardstock. I mean I could have made a box with no lid, but I decided to make a box with one long side – which formed the back, the spine & the cover.

Here is the pattern that I made to create the gift box.Note Card Box Instructions

One thing I noticed when putting this post together is the similarities of the  Blossoming Expressions stamp set to this Month’s stamp of the Month: Beloved Bouquet.

While Beloved Bouquet has a much more solid background (base) stamp image – you could totally do up one of these note card gift set with Beloved Bouquet, mmmm maybe later on the month I might do that if I get enough time.

I hope you enjoyed this little tutorial on how to make the floral note card gift set & remember to join the Live your Day Gathering to be in the draw to win the January Mystery Hostess & for a chance to get a FREE roll of gold foil tape.

Mystery Hostess - oin the Live Your Day Gathering, make an order $30 or more & you will get a FREE Roll of Foil tape, sent separately, PLUS you go into the draw of wining the Mystery Hostess. You could win FREE product & possibly up to 50% off product. Names will be drawn Jan 30, 2016 - Good Luck

The current total on the MYSTERY Hostess rewards is $50 in FREE product and one 1/2 off item.

Also make sure you take the time to round up your order & donate some money to Operation Smile™, an organization that provides free, life-changing surgery that repairs smiles and reshapes lives, one child at a time.

Thanks so much for taking the time to check out this tutorial…see you soon.

Maz

What do you think?

